Katy’s Lactation Cookies

Standard

Are you a nursing mama looking to increase/maintain your milk supply? If you are like me, I’ve had to closely manage and fight for every ounce I can get for my little one. This has pushed me to seek out all kinds of natural ways to boost my milk supply. In my quest I tried many recipes for “lactation cookies”, or cookies containing what are called galactogogues. Galactogogues are substances known to help increase milk supply. These can include oats, ground flax, brewer’s yeast, fenugreek, and others. I can honestly say that they really DO increase supply! I can see a definite difference when I consistently incorporate these things into my diet daily.

First, a couple of the ingredients are a little unusual so here is where I find them:

Brewer’s Yeast
This is traditionally used as a nutritional supplement and can have a strong taste. This particular brand I purchased on Amazon is pretty mild-tasting and I don’t really notice it in the cookies after they are baked. It’s a pretty big jar and should last you a while:

http://www.amazon.com/Brewers-Yeast-Twinlab-Inc-Powder/dp/B000EPUPSS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1413552544&sr=8-2&keywords=brewer%27s+yeast

You may be able to find it at places like Good Earth and Whole Foods, but I would imagine it will be more expensive.. You could look around and let me know what you find! ūüėČ

Ground Flax:
This is much easier to find. It is usually in smaller packages in the “natural” or “organic” section of any normal grocery store. However, I know you can find it very affordably in bulk at places like WINCO and Whole Foods.

These cookies are very fluffy and are almost muffin-like in texture. They are really quite good for you and so I don’t feel bad about eating 3-4 of them in a day. Often I will eat a couple of them for breakfast and call it good.

Katy’s Lactation Cookies:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 c.¬†apple sauce
  • 1/2 c.¬†canola oil
  • 1 c. ground flax
  • 3 heaping tablespoons brewer’s yeast
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/3 c. brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 3/4 c. oats

Optional mix-in combinations :

  • 1.5 cups white chocolate chips and 1 cup dried cranberries.
  • 1.5 cups butterscotch chips and 1 cup golden raisins.
  • 1.5 cups chocolate chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt together in a bowl. ¬†In a separate bowl, mix the applesauce, oil, flax, brewer’s yeast, water, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and vanilla together until creamy. ¬†Beat in the eggs one at a time. ¬†Slowly mix in the flour mixture. Mix in oats and other mix-ins if desired.

Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Drop 1/4 cup piles onto the cookie sheet.  Bake for 12 minutes.  Yields approximately 3 dozen.

Leave a Reply

